What do you mean honey isn’t vegan?!?

Yes this was something I said to my husband as I was proudly packing up 5 dozen fruit tarts with homemade jams. That day I had made two types of berry jams using a super simple recipe from The Busy Baker (https://thebusybaker.ca/homemade-chia-seed-jam/).

It’s quick, it’s easy, and only three ingredients! I was so excited as I was enthusiastically talking about how all the people at his office potluck could give feedback on my baking and how it was Top 8 Allergen free and vegan even. My husband stopped me right in my tracks and said “Honey isn’t vegan.” I looked at him in disbelief. It’s not part of an animal. It’s not dairy or eggs. It’s honey! As he reminded me, bees are considered animals- they are in fact the one’s making the honey. My heart fell. I was so proud my desserts were not only Top 8 but vegan yet this was totally not the case for these tarts… I actually googled “is honey vegan” and of course he was right. 

One of the many fails on my part when it came to my Top 8 baking. It may have been a delicious mistake but still a mistake nonetheless. I pride myself in being honest and try to ensure as many people as possible can enjoy my desserts and adding honey does not add, it subtracts. You learn from your mishaps and I bought agave nectar the very next day to confirm this wouldn’t happen again! 

At least I’m not the only one…

At least I’m not the only one…